Photogravure on polymer film :

 

This process uses practices and technical know-how as far apart as digital technology, photography and traditional engraving. It combines the immediacy of digital, the patience of film photography and engraving.

 

It requires several steps:

     - digital transfer of an image onto a transparency

     - positioning of this transparent on a plate on which a photosensitive film has been laminated

     - insolation, development, drying and post-exposure

As with a traditional engraving, the plate is then inked and then pulled manually on a hand press,

which gives it the status of print.

 

This is a collector's item whose plate (matrix) only allows a limited edition. The quality of the inks and papers used guarantee the permanence of the works identical to that of the engravings of past centuries.

 

A photoengraving always conceals a kind of mystery to me. The softness and sensuality of the paper used creates a special feeling (very different feeling than glossy paper).

I chose this process because it allows me to be autonomous in my practice. It leaves an important place for surprise and experimentation. Throughout its implementation, there is always a part of chance, accepted and chosen, and I always keep a great curiosity about the result.

© Laurence Briat

Photogravure sur film polymère :

 

Ce procédé met en oeuvre des pratiques et des savoir-faire techniques aussi éloignés que le numérique, la photographie et la gravure traditionnelle. Il allie l’immédiateté du numérique, la patience de la photographie argentique et de la gravure.

 

Il demande plusieurs étapes:

     - transfert numérique d’une image sur un transparent  

     - positionnement de ce transparent sur une plaque sur laquelle a été laminé un film photosensible  

     - insolation, développement, séchage et post-exposition

 Comme pour une gravure traditionnelle, la plaque est ensuite encrée puis tirée manuellement sur une presse à bras, 

ce qui lui confère le statut d'estampe.

 

Il s'agit d'un objet de collection dont la plaque (matrice) ne permet qu'une édition limitée. La qualité des encres et des papiers utilises garantissent une permanence des oeuvres identique à celle des gravures des siècles passés. 

 

Une photogravure recèle toujours à mes yeux une espèce de mystère. La douceur et la sensualité du papier utilisé engendre une sensation spéciale (sentiment très différent que le papier glacé).

J’ai choisi ce procédé parcequ’il me permet d’être autonome dans ma pratique. Il laisse une place importante à la surprise et à l’expérimentation. Tout au long de sa mise en œuvre, intervient toujours une part de hasard, accepté et choisis, et je garde toujours une grande curiosité quand au résultat. 

atelierrouge copie.JPG
soude.JPG
DSC08655.JPG
NCAY9546.JPG
encrage pour site.jpg
tiragephotogravure.jpg